International and National Competition

The Javelin is a competitive class with racing ranging from regional and club racing through to National Championships and the combined New Zealand and Australian South Pacific championships.

Javelins are raced by male and female crews of differing height and weight combinations. Combined crew weight is ideally over 130kg’s, and with an efficient rig, the Javelin can be worked hard by both young, and old.

Races are sailed on primarily a windward/leeward courses.

Australian Competitions

Racing in Australia is made of club racing across Perth, New South Wales, and Victoria.  A National title held every year.

New Zealand Competitions

Racing in New Zealand is made up of club racing, the Sanders Cup Inter-Provincial contest, along with a National regatta.

Other regattas include the North, and a Travelers Series.

New Zealand Nationals

The New Zealand Javelin National Championships have been held every year since the first competition in Wellington in 1964.

Over this time the competition has been won by some of New Zealand’s most best sailors, with names like Murray Ross, Peter Mander, Jack Cropp, Jock Bilger and Dave Elder appearing on the trophy.

The class has also attracted notable designers, such as John Spencer, Bruce Farr, Iain Murray and Ben Lexen. These designers playing a large part in new Zealand and Australian America’s cup efforts.

Sanders Cup

The Sanders Cup holds a special place New Zealand Yachting History. It is the oldest trophy sailed for in New Zealand under it’s original inception. It is the only remaining senior interprovincial challenge competition still sailed for today.

Since the inaugural races in 1921 it has been sailed for every year with the exception of 1942-45. The Sanders Memorial Cup was presented by Messrs Walker and Hall Limited in 1921 in the memory of Lieutenant Commander W.E.Sanders, V.C., D.S.O., R.N.R. for interprovincial competition between 14ft one design yachts.

South Pacific Competition

A South Pacific contest is held in which both New Zealand and Australian boats compete. The regatta is sailed every two years, and is alternated between countries.

Related Posts: Events

Lake Taupo Javelin Regatta 21/22 November 2020

After a fantastic event in memory of Nathan Bax at Rotoiti, the New Zealand fleet is getting together next on Lake Taupo. Entries close on 17 November!


Nathan Bax Memorial Regatta North Island Championships Notice Of Race

Notice of Race & Special Sailing Instructions Nathan Bax Memorial Regatta at Rotoiti (ROTOITI SPRINTS BACH REGATTA)  Nov *6, 7 and 8 NOV 2020 Series will be Governed by the “Rules” as defined in the Current Racing Rules of Sailing , except as noted below. All boats sail at their own risk.  *(Friday 6 is … Continue reading Nathan Bax Memorial Regatta North Island Championships Notice Of Race


Nathan Bax Memorial Regatta at Rotoiti 7/8 November 2020

The first event of the New Zealand Season will be our get-together at Rotoiti. It’s a great venue where we can stay in the baches and rigg on the lawn. Please register your interest with Colin


New Zealand 2020 Nationals Results


2020 Sanders Cup Interprovincial Challenge Results

After having to postpone the Sanders Cup due to gale force winds in December, again Windy Wellington lived up to its name and made it challenging for the organisers to get a contest in. The Kingham Trophy was held early Saturday morning in light Southerlies. Even though OA and FDSM had the lead for a … Continue reading 2020 Sanders Cup Interprovincial Challenge Results


Season Dates New Zealand

16-17 November— LTYC Wooden Boat Regatta, Taupo. Entries on 31 January – 2 February —Sanders Cup and Kingham Trophy, Evans Bay, Wellington. Notice of Race on 14-16 February— Javelin Nationals, Tauranga 22 or 29 February—load boats for South Pacifics 10—13 April—South Pacific Championships, Lake Cootharaba, Queensland, Australia. Information on


2020 New Zealand Nationals 14-16 February in Tauranga

The Tauranga Yacht and Power Boat Club is hosting the NZ Nationals on 14-16 February 2020. Special thanks to Colin and Ben for pulling this together! The Notice of Race is available here The Standard Sailing Instructions are published in the Racing Rules of Sailing. For your convenience, you can find a copy here. … Continue reading 2020 New Zealand Nationals 14-16 February in Tauranga


What are your thoughts on this...

Fast, Affordable, Fun